A warming Pear and Oat Muffin

Urgh…… Blah….. Drab . Winters . Day

No clothes are on the line today and all that is left of my summer frangipani tree is its skeletal frame and a courtyard carpeted in wet decaying leaves.

20130612-141808.jpg20130612-141802.jpgOh, I know all seasons have their beauty and I should appreciate what it does have to offer but…….man I loathe winter and drab wet days like this. Certainly not my cup of tea.

But speaking of cups of tea – ahh…now THERE is something i love about winter and i often find am continually putting the kettle and brewing up a nice hot cup of tea.

And these little warming nuggets of pear, oat and cinnamon may just brighten my day even more.

I had some ripe pears in the fruit bowl and they are perfect for this treat. This recipe is another one ripped out of that paper a long long time ago. It was a Matthew Evan recipe – which he got from a friends mother. I have made them lots of times and this time i made them with a wholemeal spelt flour. I have made them with normal plain flour as well. They seem to work well with either flour without needing to change the moisture content.

They are warmly spiced with cinnamon and cloves, slightly sweet, have a little tang of citrus and an earthiness from the pear and oats. What more could you ask for?

Combine the flour, oats, baking powder and lemon rind in a bowl. Give it a good mix.

20130612-143817.jpg

Grate two medium pears – with the skin on – and add the flesh and juice to the flour mix. Give it a gentle mix and set aside.20130612-143824.jpgIn a saucepan or microwave proof bowl combine the milk, butter, golden syrup and brown sugar. Warm up until butter melted and the add bicarbonate soda – bubble bubble toil and trouble. Quickly add to the flour and pear mix and stir with a wooden spoon.

20130612-143831.jpg

The final mix is quite wet but do not be alarmed. The oats draw up a lot of moisture.

20130612-143837.jpgWhip into greased baking trays and into a moderate hot oven for 20 minutes.

20130612-143843.jpg

Oh, that’s better…maybe I like winter a little after all.

I love these warm with a good wallop of butter. But they are also nice on there own.

Now all that is in order is to pick up Master 5 years from preschool, rush home , slip my cold feet into warm ugg boots and put the kettle on. Afternoon tea is ready!!

20130612-143859.jpgWhat about you – What gets you through the winter?

Pear and Oat Muffins

2 cups of wholemeal spelt flour (or use plain flour)

1 cup rolled oats

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp cloves

2 ripe pears, grated at the last minute

1/2 tsp lemon zest

280ml milk

1 tbs brown sugar

1/4 cup golden syrup

60g butter

1 1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda

Preheat oven to 190 deg celsius. Grease a 12-hole muffin tin.

Mix together the flour, rolled oats, baking powder, cinnamon and cloves

Grate the pear and stir in the flesh and lemon zest to the flour mix. Set aside.

Heat milk, butter, sugar and golden syrup in a large saucepan or a heatproof bowl in the microwave. Remove from the heat and add the bicarbonate soda – stir. It will froth up. Tip into the flour mix and stir lightly to combine. Spoon into muffin tray and bake for 20 – 25 minutes.

7 Responses to “A warming Pear and Oat Muffin”

  1. Bec

    Very quick and easy and smell scrumptious! I know this because I read your post 15min ago and I now have my own apple variety in the oven for my tin lids (and the hubby of course)!!

    Reply
  2. Amy

    Yum. I love this idea for freezing and then heating them up for my kids for a quick breakfast!

    Reply
  3. KJ

    Yum!
    I made these just now… I ate one straight out of the oven, and am seriously contemplating no. 2.
    I particularly like that they’re full of flavour but not overly sweet
    Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

